GUWAHATI: Uttarakhand’s Ankita Dhyani offered a glimpse of her immense potential as an extended distance runner by breaking Sunita Rani’s Nationwide U-20 file within the girls’s 5000m on the opening day of the thirty sixth Nationwide Junior Athletics Championships on Saturday.
Having clocked 16:37.90 to win the Federation Cup Junior U-20 Athletics Championships final month, 18-year-old Ankita improved her time to 16:21.19, bettering the sooner nationwide file of 16:21.59, set by Sunita on the Summer time Universiade on the Stadio Cibali in Italy in 1997.
Earlier, Pavana Nagaraj (Karnataka) and Mohur Mukherjee (West Bengal) have been locked in an intense battle on the excessive soar pit whereas Anurag Singh Kaler (Uttar Pradesh) and Nikhlesh (Haryana) challenged one another on the shot put circle to rewrite U-16 nationwide data.
Anurag, a eleventh customary pupil from Kafurpur in Amroha district, dominated the shot put competitors by reducing the nationwide file twice together with his first two makes an attempt over 19.23m and 20.16m.
Pavana claimed gold with a nationwide U16 file with a clearance of 1.73m in her third and ultimate try as she edged out Mohur.
Mohur cleared 1.69m and 1.71m on her first makes an attempt whereas Pavana wanted two tries to equal the nationwide mark of 1.69m.
The pair was not even born when the nationwide U16 file was pegged at 1.69m by Kavya Muthanna (Karnataka) in Kollam in 2003.
Daughter of nationwide file holder Sahana Kumari, Pavana drew from the reserves of her vitality to clear the 1.73m to say nationwide U16 file.
Vivek Kumar (Madhya Pradesh) received the boys U-18 javelin throw gold comfortably with a 72.83 effort on his final strive. Every of his 4 authorized throws sailed previous the 70m mark.
Within the battle for silver, Utsav Tanwar (Rajasthan) got here up with a greatest throw of 67.75m on his ultimate try to edge previous Uttar Pradesh’s Izhar Ahmad by a mere 2cm.
As many as 1637 girls and boys in 4 age teams are competing in 145 occasions within the five-day occasion from 32 states and union territories.
The outcomes (all finals):
Beneath 20:
Women 5000m: 1. Ankita Dhyani (Uttarakhand) 16:21.19 (New Nationwide and Meet data. Previous Nationwide Document: 16:21.59, Sunita Rani, Catania, 1997; Previous Meet file: 17:02.00, Sanjeevani Jadhav, Ranchi, 2015); 2. Chatru Gumnaram (Rajasthan) 16:54.59; 3. Rebi Pal (Uttar Pradesh) 17:34.39.
Lengthy Leap: 1. Ancy Sojan (Kerala) 6.20m; 2. Manisha Merel (Odisha) 5.63; 3. Tanushree Porel (West Bengal) 5.60.
Beneath 18:
Boys Javelin Throw: 1. Vivek Kumar (Madhya Pradesh) 72.83m; 2. Utsav Tanwar (Rajasthan) 67.75; 3. Izhar Ahmad (Uttar Pradesh) 67.65.
Women Lengthy Leap: 1. Agasara Nandini (Telangana) 5.80m; 2. Lakshmi Gemmela (Andhra Pradesh) 1.38; 3. M Kayva Manoharan (Tamil Nadu) 5.33.
Beneath 16:
Boys Shot Put: 1. Anurag Singh Kaler (UttarPradesh) 20.16m (New Nationwide & Meet Data; Previous: 18.05m, Adhish Ghildiyal, Guntur, 2017) 2. Nikhlesh (Haryana) 19.13; 3. Mohammed Mohsin Qureshi (Telangana) 16.36.
Discus throw: 1. Ram Narayan Maurya (Delhi) 53.17; 2. Raman (Haryana) 51.91; 3. Avadhut Kumar Patil (Maharashtra) 49.77.
Women Excessive Leap: 1. Pavana Nagaraj (Karnataka( 1.73m (New Nationwide and Meet Data. Previous: 1.69m, Kavya Muthanna, Kollam, 2003); 2. Mohur Mukherjee (West Bengal) 1.71; 3. Bidisha Kundu (West Bengal) 1.63.
Lengthy Leap: 1. Sabita Toppo (Odisha) 5.59m; 2. ES Sivapriya (Kerala) 5.45; 3. Neha Parvin (West Bengal) 5.42.
Shot Put: 1. Rubasri Krishnamoorthi (Tamil Nadu) 14.35m; 2. V Madhumitha (Tamil Nadu) 13.98; 3. Gurleen Kaur (Punjab) 13.71.
Beneath 14:
Boys Ball Throw: 1. Babulal Kumar Paswan (Jharkhand) 69.05m, 2. PKKP Vishnu (Kerala) 67.71; 3. CR Harish Kumar (Tamil Nadu) 66.70.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here