November 25, 2021 is more likely to be one of the vital particular days in Shreyas Iyer’s cricketing profession. The best-handed batter, who’s all set to play his first Check for India, obtained his maiden Check cap from none aside from the legendary Sunil Gavaskar forward of the primary Check match in opposition to New Zealand on the Inexperienced Park in Kanpur on Thursday. BCCI shared a video on its official social media deal with through which Gavaskar was seen sharing phrases of encouragement earlier than handing over the cap to Iyer, who kissed the batch earlier than placing it on. Iyer was then congratulated by his teammates with heat hugs.

“A second to cherish for @ShreyasIyer15 as he receives his #TeamIndia Check cap from Sunil Gavaskar – the most effective to have ever graced the sport,” BCCI captioned the video.

Iyer, who has been fairly successful within the middle-order in white-ball cricket, might be batting at No.4 or 5 on this Check match in opposition to New Zealand. The 26-year-old has a formidable common of 52 together with 12 a whole lot in First Class cricket.

India are with out their common Check captain Virat Kohli, who might be again for the subsequent Check. Rohit Sharma can also be not a part of the Check aspect and an harm to KL Rahul meant India needed to dispose of their concepts of making an attempt out Shubman Gill within the center order. Gill is ready to open the batting with Mayank Agarwal, who’s making a comeback on the prime of the order.

India’s stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane, in the meantime, gained the toss and opted to bat first. Rahane stated this can be a good alternative for the kids to point out their mettle within the absence of senior gamers.

“(The Kanpur pitch) Typically slows down afterward right here. It is a possibility for all of us right here to do nicely right here and in Mumbai. Few of the senior guys are lacking. So it is a possibility for the kids,” he stated on the toss.

India have gone in with three spinners and two seamers. With Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel being the three spinners, India have the benefit of batting deep.

Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma are the 2 specialist seamers as India determined to not embody Mohammed Siraj within the Enjoying XI.


New Zealand Enjoying XI: Tom Latham, Will Younger, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(w), Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville

India Enjoying XI: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

Matters talked about on this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here